The UK National Curriculum

State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum. This was established in 1989 to ensure the same standards of teaching and learning across the nation. The National Curriculum is divided into four key stages that children complete during their school life. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each key stage.

Key Stage 1 (KS1):

– Year 1 and Year 2
– Ages 5 to 7

Key Stage 2 (KS2):

– Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
– Ages 7 to 11

Key Stage 3 (KS3):

– Years 7, 8 and 9
– Ages 11 to 14

Key Stage 4 (KS4):

– Years 10 and 11 – GCSE
– Ages 14 to 15

Core and Foundation Subjects

There are three core subject areas for Key Stages 1 – 4: Literacy, Numeracy and Science.

There are several foundation subjects including: Design and Technology, Computing, Physical Education, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education, Art and Design, Citizenship Music, Modern Foreign Languages and Religious Studies.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

– 0 to 5 years old
–  Nursery and Reception Class

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework sets out welfare and development goals for children five years and under. The EYFS is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out six key areas of learning around which activities should be based. It covers the welfare and development of children.

The areas of learning covered within the EYFS are: 

* Communication and language
* Physical development
* Personal, social and emotional development
* Literacy
* Mathematics
* Understanding the world
* Expressive arts and design


Development, News